A true story in my Life

A True Story in my Life

At the tender age of eleven I had a dream. We had just moved; new city, new house and new school. It was a relatively large apartment in an old house that was set back off the street between a bottle factory and another building block. Nowadays, I still hear the rattling of the bottles when they landed in the crates.

I was given the biggest bedroom that had a balcony and my little brother who was five years younger the smallest next door. I think it was my parents’ restitution since they had torn me from my familiar surroundings.

One night I had a dream: Who knows, if you read Meet Me in the Dark, you might remember it somewhat.

In the living room was a coffin set up on a bier and many people showed up. They were all happy and when I asked who the coffin was for, they said: “For you, Lilly”. I started to cry because dying, looking death in the face frightened me. Well of course, who wouldn’t be at eleven years old! I don’t know why, but I went into my brother’s room. It was empty and below his window was a simple wooden ladder. It allowed you to get down to the path that led from the house through a small gate to the street.

It’s funny, even today I can’t exactly remember any other dreams of mine; I haven’t forgotten this dream over the years. Others came and went, but this one remained because it seemed so real and made such an impact on me. And then the worst thing that can befall a family happened. My brother fell ill with a brain tumor. After many agonizing surgeries he died four years later in excruciating pain.

That was the ladder by his window. It was death, who didn’t come for me, but for him, even if it was years later.

~ by lillymlove on December 26, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
Interactive Books where YOU are the hero

Survive the Zombie Apocalypse * Solve a Mystery * Gain Superpowers

Backroad Love Stories

The writing of Steven Harz

A Tale or Two

Slightly neurotic, review hungry writer seeks audience. Only serious readers need apply ;)

theflexifoodie.wordpress.com/

Delicious plant-based, whole food recipes & my healthy living tips!

SEO Optimization Articles

SEO optimizaton atricles - your guide to the SEO world. Catch fresh and unique SEO content and use them in your SEO strategy

Author C.A. White

The Sensual World

Game4Learning

Fun Learning Resouces for Kids

Angie Bledsoe

...finding my bliss!

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

Global

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com blog ever

