My Creepy False Awakening

falseawake

I think Edgar Allen Poe had  FALSE AWAKENINGS. Do you remember his famous poem: A DREAM WITHIN A DREAM

Take this kiss upon the brow!
And, in parting from you now,
Thus much let me avow-
You are not wrong, who deem
That my days have been a dream;
Yet if hope has flown away
In a night, or in a day,
In a vision, or in none,
Is it therefore the less gone?
All that we see or seem
Is but a dream within a dream…

A FALSE AWAKENING is a dream within a dream. You are convinced you are awake, but actually continue sleeping. That means you perform your daily activities, i.e., showering, eating breakfast, etc.

There have been many false awakenings throughout my life, but one reflected my supreme agony I have always had since I came to South America. It turned into a real nightmare.

Waking up in the middle of the night, I had a strange feeling that intruders were in my house. I looked out the window and saw three cars in the driveway. My heart almost stopped when I heard voices of men already in the house.

I had heard a lot of stories about kidnapping in this country and the awful ending some endured. Every family can tell you at least one story about relatives who disappeared for years, came back in a coffin or until now, of unknown fate. Some of them were released and came back with psychological problems…that is not at all surprising.

I had prepared my kids what to do if that happened – climb up our enormous bookshelf and hide behind a huge row of books. Books can be really helpful :-). We practiced it a few times with a stopwatch.

So, the time had come, but everyone was asleep except me. You cannot imagine what I lived through in this moment, thousands of thoughts burned in my head and then, fortunately, I woke up, drenched in sweat.

I definitely didn´t have a LUCID DREAM, where I was aware I was dreaming and could direct it. I think there would have been a massacre in my house and I, the hero. 🙂

http://www.lillymlove.com

~ by lillymlove on January 29, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
Interactive Books where YOU are the hero

Survive the Zombie Apocalypse * Solve a Mystery * Gain Superpowers

Backroad Poetry

the poetry of s.c. harz

A Tale or Two

Slightly neurotic, review hungry writer seeks audience. Only serious readers need apply ;)

theflexifoodie.wordpress.com/

Delicious plant-based, whole food recipes & my healthy living tips!

SEO Optimization Articles

SEO optimizaton atricles - your guide to the SEO world. Catch fresh and unique SEO content and use them in your SEO strategy

Author C.A. White

The Sensual World

Game4Learning

Fun Learning Resouces for Kids

Angie Bledsoe

...finding my bliss!

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

Global

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com blog ever

